Can I study here?

If you're interested in attending Riverside's intensive English classes, follow the directions below.


check-cut.png

To be considered, you must be:

✓ 17 years old
✓ Living in New York City
✓ An applicant for permanent residence or asylum
✓ A refugee, asylee or green card holder for less than 24 months
✓ Able to attend classes full time, Monday to Friday, 9am-3pm, for 6 weeks

 

Come to a lottery:

Because we have more applicants than spaces, we must hold lotteries before the beginning of each class cycle. Space is not guaranteed. Lotteries begin at 10am, at 270 West 89th Street in Manhattan. Please don't be late.

The 2019 - 2020 Lottery Schedule will be posted soon.

Lottery Date Class Dates
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 Thursday, August 22, 2019 - Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019 Friday, October 11, 2019 - Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019 Monday, December 2, 2019 - Friday, January 24, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020 Monday, January 27, 2020 - Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020 Wednesday, March 18, 2020 - Monday, May 11, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020 Tuesday, May 12, 2020 - Thursday, June 25, 2020
 

What to bring:

1. Proof of status: bring one of the following: Immigrant Visa, I-94, Passport, Green Card, Employment Authorization card, a copy of your application for permanent residence or political asylum, etc.

2. Photo identification

 

Other options:

If you are not eligible for classes with Riverside Language Program there are still many low-cost or free options for you to learn and improve your English in New York City.